Guilt free Raw Ice Cream!

Hello!

If you are like me, sometimes you crave a little something sweet and indulgent. If you are like Brian, that sometimes is more like all the time lol. Since being a full time mom and falling into the rabbit hole known as Pinterest , I have picked up some really cool recipes. My favorites have been for healthy desserts. This raw ice cream one is made a lot around here, given that it only requires 3-4 ingredients and a blender. I even had it as a pre breakfast snack the other day! Without further ado, here’s how to get your guilt free sweet fix!

Ingredients: (yields one serving about 1 cup)

1 very VERY ripe banana sliced and frozen (the riper the banana the sweeter it will be)

3 medjool dates or 5 regular dates pitted. (Medjool dates are sweeter and bigger so you can use less)

2 tablespoons raw cacao powder (you can add more or less to taste, I like mine rich!)

Optional: a splash of almond milk (I don’t have a super high powered blender so sometimes I need to add milk to help my blender out)

Technique:

Throw everything in the blender and blend until it’s all broken down into an even creamy substance.

Pour in to a bowl and freeze until it’s your desired consistency.

Enjoy! You can add nuts, berries, or even some not so healthy options (marshmallows anyone?) the best part about this is you can really tailor it to be the perfect level of chocolateyness for you! Raw cacao powder is a superfood rich in antioxidants so don’t feel bad about indulging.

20140318-180513.jpg

